Rocks
new
bio

Rays
japan
teaching
personal
favorites
host

A Murder of One
...written on 11.05.08, @ 12:19 a.m.

I get synchronicity and serendipity mixed up. Which one is this? I had been searching off and on for years for the words to a poem about crows that my grandfather always told me whenever we would meet. He died in 1982. Sometime in the early 90�s, I remember having an intention to renew my search. I was out shopping for some new music (after a somewhat younger date had said my taste in music was �geriatric� rock) and took just about everything the clerk recommended, when I asked him to also add whatever was playing in the store at the time. Next day in my room, I�m vacuuming, not quite hearing the store featured CD, but suddenly I turned off the vacuum cleaner, ran over to the CD player and backed it up to hear my grandfather�s poem. It was at the end of the song �A Murder of One� on the Counting Crow�s album August and Everything After: �Well I dreamt I saw you walking up a hillside in the snow / Casting shadows on the winter sky as you stood there, counting crows / One for sorrow, two for joy / Three for girls and four for boys / Five for silver, six for gold / Seven for a secret never to be told.� I felt like my grandfather was saying hello.

0 comment(s)

wane | wax